top of page

To The Last Drop


Soup Talk - To The Last Drop

By: ERIN N. SIMON

Inspired, In-Spirit Publishing 2015®

Execute your plan - Don't wait until it's perfect!

People often feel that when they attempt something, it needs to be perfect when they execute it. What ends up happening is, it never even gets attempted. Every step must be perfected before you even hit the drawing board. Believe it or not, this isn't logical. People don't look for perfection, like you imagine they do. You shouldn’t look for perfection as much as you should seek the learning opportunity.

One of the most important lessons? Starting something and seeing it all the way through to the end. Perfect as you go along. If you make a mistake, fix it, and progress forward. See each and every project through to the end.

Remember, the journey of 1000 miles begins with just one step, and the next, and the next.

I recently published my third novel, Interruption: Alter Ego in less than twelve months. This work contains 57, 532 words. Sounds overwhelming, doesn’t it? I typed one word at a time until the world I created in the book began to take a life of its own. I set goals every day to type at least 500 words per day. I didn’t work on my book everyday, either. I just made sure I wrote.

Some days, I would have to rewrite because it didn’t flow, or sound natural. There were times, my time line wasn’t right, etc. But, I wrote every day. I didn’t wait until the book was perfect in my mind, before I wrote. When I started the book, I had no idea what the ending would be, or where I was going with many of my subplots. I would write and have to put it down for two days or so. Then, an idea would hit me. I would be able to move forward.

My point is, don’t wait until it's perfect in your mind. I'm not limiting this to writing, either. This can be any project or endeavor you would like to attempt. Execution doesn’t have to be perfect. Just make sure you see the project through to the end. This is what people truly respect: that you were courageous enough to start something and see it through.

Take time to perform and Inventory:

  • What are you passionate about?

  • What project would you like to take on?

  • Do you work on at least ONE aspect a day?

  • What SIMPLE goal have you set for yourself to achieve?

  • What hinders you from your goal?

  • What can you do to minimize that hindrance?

DON’T WAIT UNTIL ITS PERFECT, BEGIN WORKING, NOW!

As Always,

Be Blessed & Bless Others,

ERIN N. SIMON

ERIN N. SIMON is a writer, blogger, and visionary in raising the conscious level within the African American Community. One of her passions is to create a Black Media that truly matters, is promotable, and shared with as many people as possible. In 2013, She and her husband started Inspired, In-Spirit Ministries where they have a real estate arm in Detroit Michigan. They have recently started a Publishing Company called Inspired, In-Spirit Publishing which have three published books on their shelves; Interruption: Shae's Search, Interruption: Interlude & The Series Finale Interruption: Alter Ego. Her husband has a company known as GS Investments in which financial freedom is gained one investment at a time. She currently resides in Florida with her husband and three handsome sons...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page